Hometown TV12 – Brockville News

Local Information & News Portal For Brockville, Prescott, Gananoque & Leeds-Grenville

Todd Lalonde Acclaimed Board Chair, Sue Wilson Acclaimed Vice-Chair at CDSBEO Annual Meeting

Kemptville – Mr. Todd Lalonde, Trustee for City of Cornwall and Glengarry County, has been acclaimed to the position of Chair for the Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario at the Annual Board Meeting held on November 30, 2021. It will be the sixth term as Chair for Mr. Lalonde, who is entering his sixteenth year as a Catholic school board trustee.

Chair Lalonde addressed trustees, senior administration, and virtual guests, “First and foremost I would like to thank my fellow trustees for the continued confidence and support. I appreciate the opportunity to serve as Chair – it is truly a privilege to serve with such good people. In my sixteen years as a trustee, I have appreciated the guidance given to me by trustees and administration. We are all very fortunate to be part of such an amazing team working toward a common goal and making decisions in the best interest of our students.”

Prescott-Russell County Trustee, Sue Wilson, was acclaimed to the position of Vice-Chair during the annual meeting. Mrs. Wilson has served as CDSBEO Trustee since 1999 and has served as the Chair of the Special Education Advisory Committee since 2001. This will be her second year in the role of Vice-Chair.

“I would like to thank my fellow trustees for entrusting me once again with this opportunity, and I would like to thank my family who is always very supportive. Our system has gone through challenging times, and we have all had to learn new ways to accomplish the board’s learning goals. With the help of our support staff, teaching staff, principals, and under the leadership of our director and administrative team, we have continued to meet the needs of our students and provide them with the necessary tools so that they can continue to succeed. I look forward to continuing in the role of Vice-Chair.”

Director of Education John Cameron congratulated Mr. Lalonde and Mrs. Wilson.

“Both Mr. Lalonde and Mrs. Wilson have demonstrated their commitment to the Catholic education. Their leadership and guidance are pivotal to our Board’s success, and we are grateful for their dedication and service.”

The 2018-2022 CDSBEO Board of Trustees are:

Jennifer Cooney – Trustee, Lanark County
Ron Eamer – Trustee, City of Cornwall and Glengarry County
Paula Hart – Trustee, City of Brockville, Town of Smiths Falls, and Leeds County
Todd Lalonde – Trustee, City of Cornwall and Glengarry County
Brent Laton – Trustee, Grenville County and Elizabethtown-Kitley Township
Karen McAllister – Trustee, Dundas and Stormont Counties
Sue Wilson – Trustee, Prescott and Russell Counties
Julia Vo – Catholic Student Trustee, 2021-2022
Ella Scott – Associate Catholic Student Trustee, 2021-2022

Director of Education Presents Annual Report

Director Cameron presented the 2021 Director’s Annual Report to the Board of Trustees at the meeting. The report reviews successes in areas such as equity and inclusion, mental health, faith development, and program initiatives.

The Director’s Annual Report is now available for viewing on the CDSBEO website (www.cdsbeo.on.ca).

The Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario operates 39 elementary and 10 secondary schools across eight counties. The CDSBEO offers excellence in Catholic education through provincial-leading programs to approximately 13,200 students.