Upper Canada District School Board Recognizes Excellence at 2017 Celebration Night – HomeTown TV12

Upper Canada District School Board Recognizes Excellence at 2017 Celebration Night

Upper Canada District School Board Recognizes Excellence at 2017 Celebration Night

Kemptville – The Upper Canada District School Board recognized excellence in members of its staff and communities Monday during the 2017 Celebration Night awards ceremony. Held at North Grenville District High School, the night recognized winners of the Upper Canada District School Board Service Excellence Award, Volunteer of the Year Award, and Director’s Award of Merit, and the Ontario Principals’ Council Award of Character.

“We are honoured to recognize our staff and community members whose contributions are key to making our schools special places for all of our students,” said Director Stephen Sliwa.

“We are proud to honour those people who make our schools centres of quality learning through volunteerism, acts of caring, and quality service to our students and our system,” added Chair Jeff McMillan. 

Recipients recognized at this year’s awards included:

UCDSB Volunteer of the Year Awards:  Marilyn MacMillan, UCDSB, Russell Public School; Marilyn Powers, Brockville family, Vanier Public School; Sharon Richardson, Dundas family, Nationview Public School; Erin Kilby, Grenville family, Maynard Public School; Nancy Cowan Boon, Highland family, Laggan Public School; Betty Mears, Lanark North family, Pakenham Public School; Muriel Hopper, Lanark South family, Queen Elizabeth Public School; Diana Kortelainen, Prescott-Russell family, Rockland District High School; Isabel Lavallee, Rideau family, Chimo Elementary School; and Tammy Brown, River family, Thousand Islands Elementary School.

Ontario Principals’ Council Award of Character: Monique Antoine-Hartley, Principal, South Crosby Public School. 

Service Excellence Award: Sherry MacLachlan, Char-Lan District High School; Sharon Halladay, Rideau District High School; Andrea Shupe, Lyn Public School; Karen Ault, Maxville Public School; Alison Eamon, Long Sault Public School; Kevin Webster, Gananoque Secondary School; Rudie Somerville, Nationview Public School; Julia Baker, Lauren Gordon, Mireille Visser, Sarah Kaufman, Westminster Public School; Jenni-Lee Drummond-Crogie, Duncan J Schoular Public School; and June Warwick, Highland Bus Lines.

Director’s Award of Merit: Sarah Dandy, Pleasant Corners Public School; Lissa Greenwood, Frankville Board office; Corrie Kelly, Nationview Public School; Kristine MacLaren, Smiths Falls and District Collegiate Institute; and Jason McNish, Lyn Public School.

Related posts

Leave a Comment