Mary Mansworth, one of 12 outstanding Canadians appointed to the YMCA Fellowship of Honour – HomeTown TV12

Mary Mansworth, one of 12 outstanding Canadians appointed to the YMCA Fellowship of Honour

Mary Mansworth, one of 12 outstanding Canadians appointed to the YMCA Fellowship of Honour

Congratulations to the 2017 recipients of the YMCA Fellowship of Honour! Pictured here with His Excellency Governor General David Johnston and YMCA Canada’s President and CEO Peter Dinsdale are recipients Bob Chan-Kent, Patricia Pelton, Wayne Perkins, Robert E. Lord, Mary Mansworth, Franco Savoia, Michael Weil, Don Noble, Helen Sinclair, John MacDonald, Michael Novak, Reinhart Weber.

Canada’s Governor General David Johnston recognizes Mary Mansworth at the 2017 Investiture Ceremony

Brockville – Mary Mansworth has dedicated years of her life to expanding the reach of the YMCA in our community. Her commitment and contributions were officially celebrated on June 8, 2017 when she received the YMCA Fellowship of Honour medal from its Patron, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, in a ceremony held at the Museum of Nature
in Ottawa, Canada.

“We are very proud of and grateful to Mary Mansworth,” said the YMCA of Brockville and Area CEO, Diana Deakin-Thomas. “Mary’s leadership and years of dedication and passion have helped to build a stronger, healthier YMCA of Brockville and Area that, in turn, is helping to build healthier communities in Leeds and Grenville. Mary’s personal investment of time, energy and talent in serving others has created a legacy that will be felt for generations.”

Mary is deeply committed to making the lives of others better. She is known for her down to earth, get things done personality which ensures no one is left behind. Also, known for posing this challenging question: “What if there were no YMCA in our community?”. Mary believes deeply in the value of a YMCA in every community where everyone is welcome regardless of background or economic status.

The YMCA Fellowship of Honour has recognized the distinguished and exceptional service of volunteers and staff since its inception in 1978. The induction of YMCA leaders takes place every three to four years, under the patronage of the Governor General of Canada. More than 120 exemplary Canadians have been honoured in one of two categories: A Companion award recognizes outstanding national and international leadership, and an Officer award acknowledges local or regional leadership contributions.

Mary Mansworth joins the Fellowship as an Officer.

Collectively, these committed Canadians have provided distinguished service to the YMCA in communities across Canada. Said Peter Dinsdale, YMCA Canada’s President and CEO, “We owe these individuals a debt of gratitude for the personal investment they have made to help ensure a sense of belonging—not only for those in their local communities but also for their fellow citizens across the country and around the world. They represent the best of what it means to be Canadian.”

About the YMCA Fellowship of Honour

The appointments to the YMCA Fellowship of Honour are governed by a selection process established by the YMCA Fellowship of Honour Constitution and directed by an Advisory Council composed of a Canadian YMCA leader as Chair, at least three Canadians who have served the YMCA with distinction, the Chair of the YMCA Board and the national President and Chief Executive Officer. The Council considers nominations received from throughout the Canadian YMCA Federation and recommends appointments to the National Board for approval. Each recipient receives a Fellowship of Honour Medal designed by award-winning artist Dora de Pedery-Hunt, a framed citation and commemorative lapel pin.

Related posts

Leave a Comment