Morrisburg – Upper Canada Village will celebrate the transformation of the recently restored Croil Barn at Loucks Farm into a new agricultural museum. Over the past two years the barn has seen an extensive restoration and a complete makeover inside into an engaging museum space showcasing artefacts from the Village’s extensive agricultural collection, many pieces on display for the first time.
The Croil Barn offers a fascinating look at unusual implements and processes and is ideally located near Loucks Farm and gardens. The museum traces life on the farm through the four seasons and highlights changes and advances made in farm machinery during the 19th century.
On display is a newly acquired piece, “The Decker” Separator, an advanced model of threshing machine built by the MacDonald Manufacturing Company of Stratford, Ontario and dating to 1885. In addition to agriculture, winter sports equipment including sleighs and toboggans are featured along with a dairy section and fruit harvesting displays.
Upper Canada Village staff played an integral role in the transformation and designed the layout, created the storyline and selected the artefacts to be displayed.
An official ribbon cutting to open the Croil Barn will be held at 11:00 a.m. on Saturday, June 24, 2017.
The St. Lawrence Parks Commission, operates attractions and recreational areas stretching from Kingston to the Quebec border, including Upper Canada Village, Fort Henry National Historic Site of Canada (and a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Kingston Penitentiary Tours, Crysler Park Marina, Upper Canada Golf Course, Skywood Eco Adventure, Upper Canada Migratory Bird Sanctuary and 12 campgrounds and beach day-use picnic areas including the Long Sault and 1000 Islands Parkway.